Skip to content

RODE HALL FARMERS MARKET

October 6, 2012

Lovely sunny morning so decided to travel a little further afield and visit Rode Hall Farmers Market for the first time.

It was only 10.15 when I got there but it was really busy and cars were streaming in to be directed onto the grass for parking. Luckily in a 4×4 I had no concerns on the grass but the lady next to me was convinced she would never get back on the road but I said there were plenty of chaps on duty to guide her on her return. Not sure how they cope in the wet but seemed well organised.

We walked round to the market together and she told me they come every month but like me her husband was working this morning so she explained the layout to me and off I went.

A number of stands are ones that go to Treacle Market but others were new to me. Particularly liked Cuttleford Farm Shops produce and prices. Bourne’s Cheshire Cheese is one we regularly look out for and although I’ve seen Great North Pie Co. at Cheshire Show etc it was his Vegetarian pies that attracted me today for a nice quick lunch. They were really tasty and nice pastry so will definitely try them again. We had Classic Lancashire Cheese and Onion and a Goats Cheese, pumpkin, apple and hazelnut.

There was a good variety on sale with butchers, bakers, honey, olives, vegetables, pies, cheese etc and nice that not stall after stall of cup cakes which a lot of people are getting bored with seeing. Funny to see one cake maker with the Nigella Chocolate Guinness cake named “Irish Gold”.

Which reminds me ~ if I’m going to limit myself to one supermarket trip a month I better add Guinness on to the shopping list as that cake is a family gathering favourite and an easy one to do.

Used half of a huge cauliflower to make Cauliflower Cheese Soup to have with our pies so my lovely hubby had a break between finishing work and going to help my son continue with their new bathroom.

Comments are closed.

