Skip to content

BREAD CLUB

October 15, 2012

I had such a good morning at Bread Club. Not just because of learning more about bread but the added benefit of being with other like minded people when it comes to talking about local, sustainable and most importantly fresh food.

Bread club is run on a purely voluntary basis by Ruth and Yvonne who both have so much enthusiasm to inspire others to have a go that two of their initial members, Alan and Sheila, are going to start an additional class to cope with demand since the article appeared in the Macclesfield Express. It is part of the Food 4 Thought initiative which came through the Food 4 Macc group. More information on that here Food 4 Macc.

A queue to scrub red hands while making Beetroot Bread

Today we were making Beetroot Bread which was a first for everyone except Yvonne who had tested it out and already cooked and grated the beetroot – not only for the 10 of us but for the additional Community Loaves for this weeks deliveries – not as many as normal ordered possibly because not everyone likes Beetroot (although we both love it fortunately) but Yvonne assured everyone it is a lovely taste.

The dough certainly looks spectacular.

The very pretty Beetroot Bread dough

The girls know about my no supermarket challenge and have told me about a co-operative in Chorlton called The Unicorn (www.unicorn-grocery.co.uk) that sells a lot of local produce and also a lot of these items that I struggle finding currently in Macclesfield. Although I wouldn’t want to be travelling that far just for some bicarbonate of soda the whole ethics of The Unicorn looks good to me and as we’re travelling that way later in the week we’re planning to call and I will have my (ever growing) shopping needs list with me.

So I’m writing this as the bread is baking before I fly out to see my daughter and grandson and find out what they’ve been doing over the weekend. I did get a look at home via Face Time yesterday in his new Spider-Man costume. He’s only three but loves “super heroes”! Apparently he wants to wear it for Halloween instead of his actual spider costume but that might change.

As we’re going to be out a lot over the next few days I’ve just emptied the fridge of all the odd bits of veg that won’t keep and I’m going to prep them all and leave them in oil, garlic and rosemary in the fridge to roast later for supper with just the addition of some goat’s cheese and a little more oil towards the end of cooking. We can try the Beetroot Bread with that too.

Well bread’s out and looks great – taste test later!

Beetroot Bread!

Comments are closed.

