Skip to content

CHILLI DAY

October 22, 2012

I think my awful cold is having an effect on my taste buds! I have a yearning for food containing chilli.

A huge bag of apples needed to be sorted out before we are away again for a few days so before he went to work my husband set to and peeled two big pans full. I sliced one panful up and added sugar before stewing. When that had cooled a little I split it into three tubs and froze it ready for another day.

With the second panful I sliced and diced them and made Chilli Chutney. To get a good dark chutney you have to be quite patient as it is much better to let it cook over a very low heat for a very long time.

I’m also on the look out for some really nice jars. I re-use any jam jars with vinegar proof lids (against EU regulations apparently) and have a few proper Kilner jars but I saw some chutney in beautiful heart shaped jars at the weekend and thought something like that would be really good as a gift.

My final chilli item of the day is to add chilli and kidney beans to last nights left overs then we just need some basmati rice for a quick supper.

Great British Bake Off

Looking forward to Great British Bake Off Masterclass tonight – the problem is I am keeping all these programmes on the planner alongside any Harry Potter or Disney Classics and space is getting lower!

Comments are closed.

