Skip to content

WASTE NOT WANT NOT!

November 7, 2012

The effort not to waste any food has grown in me even more since it’s become something of a task to replenish supplies!

I don’t think I’m saving any money at the moment by doing this because the produce we are buying is generally higher end but I admit without this challenge I would have rushed into Sainsbury’s for some quick fixes for lunch and supper today.

So instead of that within a couple of minutes of returning from work at lunch time I was delving into the fridge to see what to make into soup for a quick lunch.

The majority of a cauliflower and my bag of Parmesan rinds (which I used to throw into the bin until I found Ottelenghi’s recipe for Parmesan Soup) were the choice for my Cauliflower Cheese Soup. It was the first time I’ve defrosted frozen home made bread rolls and they were a success so I’m going to make a couple of batches tomorrow night to replenish the freezer.

We go away on Saturday so looking at the fridge there’s not loads of fresh things left (and no Northern Harvest delivery tomorrow) so last night I put some butter beans to soak and they are the base of tonight’s supper to be used with the last of the chorizo, courgette, and tinned tomatoes. Basic sort of recipe but we both love butter beans – Butter bean and Chorizo Casserole. It’s the simple sort of thing that you can add to or take away from depending on what’s available – a bit like Nigel Slater says in his latest series you don’t always need a recipe and it is the best way to make sure nothing goes to waste!

Comments are closed.

