Skip to content

WELSH RAREBIT NIBBLES

November 25, 2012

The first of the suggestions for Christmas nibbles came from my daughter who saw these in a magazine. I have adapted the recipe as I didn’t have the recommended beer in the house but was fortunate Mum had given me some cider with a short use by date she’d found in her pantry so I thought that was ideal! They are really yummy. I’m yet to decide about the freezing. I baked the first batch and will freeze them cooked and then try freezing a raw batch and bake them.

INGREDIENTS

50g butter (diced)
150 ml Cider
75g Plain flour
2 Eggs
75g Extra mature cheese (I used a mature one from H S Bourne)
1 tbsp English mustard
Black pepper and salt to season

METHOD

1. Gently melt the butter in the cider.
2. When melted turn up the heat and as soon as it begins to bubble beat in the flour with a wooden spoon until smooth.
3. Allow to cool slightly then beat in the eggs one at a time until smooth.
4. Beat in the cheese, mustard and salt and pepper.
5. Spoon dessert spoon mounds onto parchment lined trays (makes about 20).
6. Bake for 15-20 mins at 200C/180C fan/gas 6 until golden and puffy.
7. Serve hot.

Welsh Rarebit Nibbles

Comments are closed.

