Skip to content

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

January 1, 2013
2013

2013

At the start of 2012 I was spoilt for choice with new cook books and new recipes and began the year inspired to use more vegetables and pulses in our meals. I actually worked my way right through the River Cottage Veg book and a number of those recipes have become staple favourites.

There wasn’t one recipe that I disliked in the whole book and that was a first. Obviously I was slightly biaised as I’m not a big meat eater and the ingredients required were generally things that we would use anyway. Though I did grow to use thyme a lot more than I had ever done before!

So this New Year I am again in the fortunate position of three new cook books and lots of new recipes:

Nigel Slater’s Kitchen Diaries 2
Jane Mason’s All You Knead Is Bread and
Emmanuel Hadjiandreou’s How To Make Bread.

It will take me all year to go through all these recipes but it’s a prospect I am relishing and not a tick off list to be pushed to the back of a drawer! I’ve already tried three of Jane’s bread recipes with success so that’s a good omen hopefully.

Today I’m following Emmanuel’s instructions and beginning my first sourdough starter.

I should have started this a few days ago as I have used the last of my yeast this morning to start a loaf as my son and daughter in law slept over last night after going to a party nearby and came in and made sandwiches in the early hours! I really should have thought about that but expected they would eat at the party – perhaps it’s just the Real Bread they like!

But first thing in the kitchen today was to use up some of the Panettone and make French Toast.

Soaking the Pannetoné

Soaking the Pannetoné

I didn’t follow a recipe but beat three eggs with some left over cream and thinned it down with full fat milk. Then I sliced the Panettone (well Pandoro as I have one of each left) and soaked each slice in the egg mixture before frying in butter and a little oil.

Fry the slces

Fry the slces

When the slices are brown on each side sprinkle a little icing sugar on top or maple syrup and serve.

New Year Brunch

New Year Brunch

So Happy New Year to you all and Happy Baking!

2 Comments
  1. Vivienne. ( Burwash Barker on twitter) permalink
    January 1, 2013 2:41 pm

    That looks delicious and a pretty shape…..is that a panettone tin or just a cake tin? Interested as I brought a round 7 inch tin and it’s really not great if the bread rises.
    It’s just as well I brought myself a copy of All you knead is bread, which I am enjoying, can recommend the cinnamon buns. As no cookery books this Christmas. Really want Ottolenghi’s Plenty…have you got that? Have enjoyed your blog, but only discovered it a couple of months ago.

    • January 1, 2013 3:04 pm

      Hi Vivienne – yes I have Ottolenghi’s Plenty my nephew bought it for me after visiting his restaurant and it is a lovely book with beautiful pictures and some good recipes. My only problem with it was as I’m not shopping in supermarkets I found some of the ingredients difficult for me to get. I rely heavily on farm shop delivery and local markets so current favourites apart from my new bread books are HFW and Nigel Slater as they have more of my ethos of back to basics!

Comments are closed.

