Skip to content

I’VE BEEN TO A SUPERMARKET!

January 10, 2013

It’s not as bad as it sounds….honest!

Following on from my dad’s last operation, just after Christmas, he’s not driving again yet so I offered to take Mum for a “big shop” so she can carry on with her cooking and baking.

Mum’s where I get my passion for cooking from. She’s always cooked and baked and still, at nearly 85, has a weekly baking day. Cakes and scones are her speciality and the best meat and potato pie ever.

There was no way I would have pushed my shopping challenge on to her but she always looks for British produce and products and reacts every time I inform her of another British favourite being sold or produced abroad. I know she’s my mum but she’s brilliant!

My wonderful Mum and Dad

My wonderful Mum and Dad

They shop at a large Tesco at Handforth Dean and are so lovely with the staff they even exchange Christmas gifts with one of the assistants.

So off we went this morning and got everything that she needed. British vegetables and fruit, meat and chicken, milk, eggs, butter and sugar etc. Only one thing she had to get that was imported were Turkish sultanas (as I would) so she did really well.

When I took her home she presented me with two jars of dried fruit – dates and apricots. I think she’d put them in the jars so I couldn’t ask where they were from but she knows all my dried fruit is decanted into bags at the Unicorn so it was lovely of her.

Already used some of the dates!

Already used some of the dates!

As soon as I was home I began looking for a coffee and date cake recipe as it is my favourite cake at the Clocktower Cafe in Connaught Gardens in Sidmouth. All the cakes they make there are huge and gorgeous – I wish they would do a recipe book!

But then I thought sensibly there are just the two of us and our ideal sized cake is a loaf tin so I decided to try a recipe similar to my mincemeat cake and it turned out great. If I was making for the family I would double quantities and split between two deep tins. Simple recipe here Coffee and Date Cake.

2 Comments
  1. January 10, 2013 7:42 pm

    Did it feel weird to be there?

    • January 10, 2013 8:04 pm

      It really wasn’t too bad – my mum is so funny and knows a lot of the staff so it was lovely to have a couple of hours on our own. I did find myself looking at what people had loaded their trolley with in a quizzical manner!

Comments are closed.

