Skip to content

CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL

March 24, 2013

I am in the middle of my third bout of flu since Christmas. Apparently my immune system is at rock bottom and there is little you can do about that. I need sunshine, fresh air and (my addition to my docs recommendations) chicken soup!

Therefore the chicken carcass was simmered for an hour with bay leaves, salt and pepper and stripped – this is what I added to it.

INGREDIENTS

2 finely chopped onions

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

2 diced large carrots

Chopped root vegetables – I have some celeriac to use but swede, turnip or a combination of them

2 sticks of celery – chopped finely

Chopped or dry parsley

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 tsp bouillon powder (I use Marigold)

One teaspoon of fresh or dried thyme

METHOD

1. Simmer the chicken carcass for about 40 minutes. Allow to cool enough so you can remove the carcass to a dish and strip it of all the remaining meat.

2. In a clean pan slowly cook the onions and garlic until beginning to soften and then gradually add the remaining vegetables.

3. As they begin to soften and become translucent cover with the stock and bring to a simmer.

4. At this point add the other ingredients and the chicken. I also shredded the chicken from two remaining legs and added some chopped cooked left over potatoes.

5. Simmer for 30-40 minutes and check seasoning. Dependent on the quantity of your ingredients you may need to add some extra fluid.

6. This is a lovely way to use up the remains of a chicken and you can always vary with the addition of pasta or rice – or some dumplings for a winter meal!

I apologise for the lack of pictures on this post – I began it 6 days ago and had to leave it as I deteriorated but beginning to feel better now so will add pics next time I make it x

Comments are closed.

