Skip to content

HOOPS AND CROSSES

May 27, 2013

We love crisps but I hardly buy them any more. Not using supermarkets means I’m not tempted by the BOGOF or 3 for 2 or any other offer on the savoury snack aisle.

However, I happily admit that if they are on offer with pre-dinner drinks or when my gorgeous grandson offers me a choice of shape (teddy bear crisp anyone) and flavour with our lunch time sandwich then I’m ready to snack!

Around the independent deli’s and farm shops we look out for vegetable crisps – parsnip and beetroot are our favourite.

So when I saw Walkers request for food bloggers to trial a new corn snack aimed at children I readily agreed.

Their main selling point is that, unlike other similar snacks that contain none, the Hoops and Crosses contain 56% wholegrain. They also contain no artificial colours or preservatives and 30% less fat than comparable snacks.

When my shoebox size parcel arrived I thought it would be a selection of flavours but in fact it was one packet being held by a rather adorable little monkey!

I re-packed the box – which also had a little book about the new product – and on my next visit to my daughter presented the box to my grandson.

What's in the box?

What’s in the box?

He removed the packaging and the book – then the snack was removed and totally ignored as his joy at receiving a monkey was beyond belief – apparently he’s “Always wanted a monkey!”.

I did own up that it had come with the Noughts and Crosses and I had no idea he’d been patiently waiting for the little chap to arrive but it didn’t reduce his excitement.

Monkey

Monkey

When calm had returned we decided to do a taste test – his poor mummy is suffering from HG so couldn’t be tempted but we gave them a try. Beef is never a flavour I would choose but as the little chap informed me from the literature the options are prawn cocktail, salt and vinegar or beef – “No cheese Nanna”, (yes I’m showing off he’s 3 but he can read the literature). They reminded me of a Monster Munch with that same puffed texture.

They went down well with my grandson and although we couldn’t describe them as a healthy snack they are a slightly better option than the comparable products.

I wouldn’t expect that anyone would encourage their children to use them to actually play noughts and crosses with but as part of a picnic or packed lunch they’re a suitable treat!

The taste test

The taste test

2 Comments
  1. Uncle Tom permalink
    August 21, 2013 4:23 pm

    glad he liked the monkey! have you tried the sunbites yet?

    • August 21, 2013 7:07 pm

      I don’t know Tom! I don’t often get crisps/snacks with not using the supermarket so not heard of them but Em may have. Hope you’re well x

Comments are closed.

