Skip to content

ONE YEAR ON

July 20, 2013

It’s over a year now since we stopped shopping in supermarkets and we’ve really enjoyed it!

We got into the swing of it fairly quickly as I have the luxury of time. Also, I wasn’t having to find many specific branded products – unlike perhaps someone with a young family who must have Dairylea Dunkers or Walkers Prawn Cocktail crisps as the only teenage snack of choice!

Northern Harvest

Northern Harvest

We’ve had some little bumps along the road and one or two diversions (which I’ve previously mentioned) but we’ve met, or spoken with, so many lovely, helpful people and learnt such a lot we’ve decided to carry on indefinitely.

Joining my local Bread Club put me in touch with other like minded people and we share new finds, new producers, new ideas on how to shop and eat locally.

Bread Club 1st Anniversary

Bread Club 1st Anniversary

Returning from the States last week left us with no alternative but to go to a supermarket. I needed yeast, milk, and other essentials to soothe our jet lagged bodies and at the time of day we ventured out (after a short nap to spur us on) no farm shop or independent was available.

I spent too much money! I was straight back into buying things not on my list! As if that wasn’t enough to put me off then trying to read all the labels for each item was. It took me ages.

Shopping from independents isn’t always easy. My most regular farm shop delivers to the door – but only on one day of the week. So if you’re going to be out all day that leaves a big hole in the shopping for that week.

So if you’re going to give it a go be prepared to be organised, plan ahead and also be flexible. If you are planning a fish meal and none is available you might just have to choose chicken!

Comments are closed.

