Skip to content

PASTA WITH GREENS, GARLIC AND CHILLI

August 14, 2013

When I am tempted to nip into a supermarket because supplies and time are tight there are two choices. I can give in and go shopping or turn to the River Cottage Veg Everyday book.

I got this book for Christmas 2011 and was so impressed with the simplicity of the recipes, and like Nigel Slater’s books the similarity of their store cupboards to mine, that I worked my way through it in 2012.

Yesterday, when in that position I took a look in the fridge, decided a couple of heads of greens needed using and flicked through the Veg Everday index.

This is a simple, tasty and very economical supper. My only query with this recipe is the quantity of pasta – it is meant for four but the way I measure – one bowl of dry weight = enough for two bowls of cooked pasta would mean 100g per person served as a little more for the chaps than the ladies so I’ve increased that a little.

INGREDIENTS

2-3 heads of greens or kale
6 tbsps olive oil (I use local rapeseed now)
1 large onion
1 red chilli, deseeded and finely chopped or two good pinches of dried chilli flakes
2 garlic cloves finely chopped
400g pasta shapes
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
To serve –
Extra virgin olive oil
Parmesan, pecorino or other hard well flavoured cheese. I used some strong Cheshire we had left from the International Cheese Awards

METHOD

1. Put a large pan of well salted water on to boil.

2. Remove the core and thick stems from the greens and shred the leaves.

Spring greens

Spring greens

3. Heat the oil in a frying pan over a low heat. Add the onion and cook gently for 10 minutes, or until soft. Add the chilli and garlic and some salt and pepper and continue to cook gently.

Gently fry the onion mixture

Gently fry the onion mixture

4. Add the pasta to the boiling water adding the greens to the pan 3-4 minutes before the end of cooking.

Stir in the greens

Stir in the greens

5. Drain the pasta and greens thoroughly and stir in the onion mixture.

6. Check the seasoning, then serve, with extra virgin olive oil for trickling and lots of grated cheese.

Tasty, quick and economical!

Tasty, quick and economical!

2 Comments
  1. Yvonne permalink
    August 14, 2013 1:37 pm

    Sounds like I should get River Cottage veg everyday book!

    • August 14, 2013 5:28 pm

      Apart from my bread books it’s certainly a favourite!

Comments are closed.

