Skip to content

RASPBERRY AND WHITE CHOCOLATE CAKE

August 24, 2013

Having not had chance to bake all week I had a plan in my head to have that pleasure today.
The loaves I made last Sunday lasted (wrapped in clean tea towels) until last night – something I still find amazing with no additives or preservatives in.
Bread making is like second nature now – the pace and mood of the day improved by the gentle folding process I’ve learnt to enjoy. The magic of yeast never failing to impress as the loaves are tipped onto the cooling rack.
I have raspberries to use up and a block of Green and Black’s White Chocolate with Raspberry so a quick turn to Google led me to a dozen variations – none perfectly right but a combination of raspberry rippled sponge and white chocolate buttercream with the hint of raspberry seemed worth a try. The final result was too sweet for my taste and if I do it again I would try a cream cheese frosting but the family enjoyed it!

INGREDIENTS

335g butter (always says unsalted but my farmhouse butter is salted)
335g caster sugar
6 large free range eggs
315g self raising flour
37g cornflour (I love the deep yellow colour of the Organic one I now get from the Unicorn)

Organic cornflour has a beautiful golden colour

Organic cornflour has a beautiful golden colour

1 and a half teaspoons of baking powder
1 tablespoon milk
3 tablespoons raspberry jam

For the buttercream:
500g icing sugar
250g butter
175g white chocolate
2-3 tbsp milk if required
Raspberries for decoration.

METHOD

I normally enjoy the hand mixing process but as my grandson was on the way today I used my old processor.

1. Mix together the butter and caster sugar until they are smooth and creamy.

Cream butter and sugar

Cream butter and sugar

2. Add the eggs one at a time with a little of the flour if it looks like curdling.

3. Mix in the remaining flour, cornflour, milk and baking powder and when thoroughly combined gently stir in the jam – not to make a pink batter but a ripple effect.

Stir in the jam

Stir in the jam

4. Grease and line two 7″ cake tins and divide the mixture between them. Bake at 160 degrees C fan oven for 50-60 minutes – changing shelves half way through to get an equal bake.

Split between the two tins

Split between the two tins

5. Leave to cool for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool thoroughly.

Raspberry sponge

Raspberry sponge

6. Meanwhile melt the white chocolate in a bowl over hot water. While it’s cooling mix the butter and icing sugar until smooth and creamy. Stir in the white chocolate.

7. Spread a thin layer of jam on the bottom cake then a layer of the buttercream. Place the second sponge on top and cover the top and idea with buttercream. Arrange fresh raspberries on top for decoration.

Raspberry and white chocolate cake

Raspberry and white chocolate cake

One Comment
  1. August 26, 2013 5:41 pm

    Such a great looking cake!

Comments are closed.

