Skip to content

BAKE IT YOURSELF BAKE A LONG

August 26, 2013

I had Neff ovens in our Devon apartment and was really pleased with them. As I really got into my bread making I would just carry on and make our bread while we were there. On extended stays cakes and scones and in the run up to Christmas it became part of my routine to make my mince pies in the Neff ovens preferring them to my gas oven at home.

Now I have my new range cooker at home I have a slightly larger electric oven and find I only use the gas side when cooking for a hoard.

So when I recently joined Facebook to be able to share recipes etc with my breadie friends I started following Bake It Yourself (sponsored by Neff).

They had published two tear and share recipes a few days ago and I’d opted for the savoury version – buying Parma ham as the only ingredient I didn’t have in.

After a (very) late night in Manchester with my darling hubby, son and daughter in law, which involved cancellation of our train home and an alternative (much extended) route home via Alderley Edge and the Bubble Room we were singing and dancing at home until 3! Believe me this is a rare event but involved much laughter and did us all good but meant there was no way I would be up in time to make my bread dough and be ready for the bake along kick off at 10 30!

So some hours later I began my dough and followed the recipe. It was simple and turned out to be very tasty – think it will be a good one to share at Bread Club too so thank you guys.

INGREDIENTS

1 lb bread dough – I used a 50/50 recipe
1 oz Parmesan
1 oz Cheddar
1 oz butter (says melted but mine was just very very soft)
Mixed herbs

METHOD

Shape the dough into a 12″x8″ rectangle

Shape your dough

Shape your dough

Spread with the butter then sprinkle over the two grated cheeses and the Parma ham cut into strips

Add the toppings

Add the toppings

Roll up from the long edge like a Swiss roll and cut into one inch pieces. Place the slices into a 9″ cake tin and leave to rise for one hour (covered with a clean tea towel)

Before last rise

Before last rise

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Bake at 200 degrees C for 25 minutes until golden brown. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Ready to eat

Ready to eat

3 Comments
  1. Life is Short. Eat Hard! permalink
    August 26, 2013 5:40 pm

    Delcious!

  2. Yvonne permalink
    August 26, 2013 6:49 pm

    Looks really yummy- a Bread Club goer Me thinks!

Comments are closed.

