Skip to content

WINDFALL APPLE CRUNCHY CRUMBLE

September 6, 2013

I love it when people offer me glut produce and make sure I don’t waste it. Last weekend my Mum sent me home with a large bag of windfall apples. They were coming for lunch today so when she rang to say she would bring another bag of apples I thought I better put some to use for lunch!

The only problem with windfalls is they are often small and take ages to peel!

Windfall apples

Windfall apples

This is my crunchy crumble recipe.

INGREDIENTS

1kg Windfall apples lightly stewed with sugar to taste (some of Mum’s apples are eating so quite sweet) and 1 tbsp lemon juice
100g/3½oz plain flour
75g/2½oz butter
50g/2oz rolled oats
100g/3½oz demerara sugar

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C

2. Spoon the stewed apples into an ovenproof dish (or four small ramekins).

3. Rub together flour and butter until resembling breadcrumbs.

Add oats and sugar

Add oats and sugar

4. Simply stir in the oats and Demerara sugar and sprinkle over the fruit.

Windfall Apple Crumble

Windfall Apple Crumble

5. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 25 minutes.

Another simple, economical recipe that uses up seasonal produce.

3 Comments
  1. September 7, 2013 5:13 am

    Windfall apples – most people don’t even know what these are now and just expect perfect ones from the supermarket. Lovely crumble.

    • September 7, 2013 8:23 am

      I love it when I get produce for nothing! Must be my Yorkhire genes from my mum!

      • September 7, 2013 9:29 am

        Yep me too ( frugal genes inherited too)

Comments are closed.

