Skip to content

CELERY AND APPLE SOUP

September 15, 2013
tags: , ,

We’ve been busy and out every day this week. I didn’t have a farm shop delivery either so apart from a few bits bought at the market fresh supplies are quite low today.

I really don’t want to go out today as I have things to catch up on so I headed to the kitchen to see what was there.

A head of celery was the first thing I spotted and some windfall apples so the first thing I decided on was celery and apple soup for when Mr W returns from work.

Soup is something I make all the time as a way of not wasting any of our food and it’s also good for me if I’m not feeling too well!

CELERY AND APPLE SOUP

INGREDIENTS

1 large onion, peeled and diced
1 head of celery, washed and sliced
2 potatoes, dice (I left the peel on)
2 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 tbsp oil
3 tsps vegetable bouillon powder
750 ml hot water (a little more if you like a thinner soup)
Salt, ground black pepper

METHOD

1. Gently cook the celery and onion in the oil until softening but not brown.

2. Add the garlic, potatoes and apples and continue to gently cook for 10 minutes before adding the stock.

Sauté the veg

Sauté the veg

3. Gently simmer for 15-20 minutes until all the veg are cooked and soft. Season to taste.

4. Cool slightly and then blend before reheating to serve.

Celery soup

Celery soup

Comments are closed.

