Skip to content

ITALIAN BREAKFAST BANANA BREAD (thankyou again Nigella!)

October 26, 2013

I am no Domestic Goddess but if you read my blog you know I love to cook and bake. One of my favourite cooks is Nigella. Along with my other favourites this is because I seem to have the same ingredients in my store cupboards and fridge so following her recipes is no stress.

I first made this loaf cake last September – it is fom her book Nigellissima which, although not my favourite, I would still recommend. The recipes are straightforward and the photography beautiful.

This one is so easy I got it mixed and in the oven while our porridge was cooking this morning after seeing we had a fresh bunch of bananas hanging alongside last weeks blackening leftovers!

Italian Breakfast Banana Bread

Italian Breakfast Banana Bread

INGREDIENTS

150ml flavourless vegetable oil, plus some for greasing unless you use a loaf tin liner like me!)
3 medium bananas, very ripe
2 tsp vanilla extract
pinch salt
2 eggs
150g caster sugar
175g plain flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
4 tsp instant espresso powder

1 x 450g/1lb deep loaf tin

1. Place a baking sheet into the oven, and preheat to 170oC/150oC fan oven/gas mark.

2. Get out a loaf tin, and line it with baking parchment or a loaf liner, or lightly oil it.

3. Mash the bananas with the vanilla extract and salt and then beat in the oil.

4. Beat in the eggs followed by the sugar.

5. Mix the flour with the bicarb and espresso powder, and beat these dry ingredients into the runny batter.

6. Pour into your prepared tin and bake for 50-60 minutes.

Enjoy!

Perfect with coffee

Perfect with coffee

Comments are closed.

