Skip to content

YORKSHIRE LASS PARKIN

November 1, 2013

I had a rather old notebook – started at school and added to over the years – full of recipes.

The mistake I made was sticking cut out recipes from magazines in to it – they yellowed – and dated much more than the hand written ones which have stood the test of time.

The bigger mistake I made was deciding to re write the popular ones and throw my book away. Not long after that the Hairy Bikers began the series where people brought their tatty and battered recipe books to share family favourites. I so wish I’d kept mine. I’m definitely going to keep my Mums.

Happily I did rewrite and keep all the ones my Mum used to make including this seasonal favourite – Yorkshire Parkin from a true Yorkshire lass! My only change to this is Mum included a spoon of vinegar but I found no detriment to taste leaving it out.

We were down in Devon one bonfire night and asked all over for Parkin – then had to explain what it was. We didn’t find any and no – ginger cake won’t do it’s not Parkin without oatmeal!

INGREDIENTS

225g Plain Flour
1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
1 tsp Ground Ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
100g Oatmeal
270g Black Treacle
280g Golden Syrup
175g Butter
50g Soft Brown Sugar
3 fl oz Milk
2 Beaten Eggs

METHOD

1. Grease and line an 8″ square cake tin.

2. Pre heat oven to 180 degrees C (160 fan).

3. Mix the flour, bicarbonate of soda, ground ginger, spices and oatmeal in a bowl.

It's not Parkin without oatmeal

It’s not Parkin without oatmeal

4. Melt the syrup, treacle, butter and sugar over a low heat, turn off and allow to cool for 10 minutes.

Add the liquid to the bowl

Add the liquid to the bowl

5. Add to the dry ingredients. Stir together then gently stir in the milk and beaten eggs.

6. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for 50-60 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean.

7. Leave the cake to cool in the tin.

Yorkshire Parkin

Yorkshire Parkin

8. Wrap in grease proof paper to keep. This cake can be kept for a few days and becomes more sticky if given the chance!

2 Comments
  1. November 1, 2013 10:43 pm

    That looks just like the gingerbread cakes that I make.

    • November 2, 2013 8:11 am

      Do you put oatmeal in your recipe too? Gives it a different texture and seems to help it keep differently to cake.

Comments are closed.

