Skip to content

A CAKEY BAKEY DAY

March 25, 2014

Through baking I’ve come across some really nice people. Many willing to give up their time to volunteer to teach or encourage others. Our love for everything baking & cooking seems to be still a growing trend.

Through Macclesfield’s Food 4 Macc Bread Club I’ve met a new friend – Yvonne, not just alike in our love of baking but also buying local produce from independent retailers, time spent with family and wherever possible trying to lead a simple life.

So I was really pleased when she asked if I wanted to go to her lovely home and have a baking session. It took us weeks to find a suitable free date but today was the day!

Yvonne made Florentines and some lovely scones to which she added fruit and marzipan – they were delicious!

I took along my new Nordic Ware Chiffon Bundt Pan and a recipe from Lynn Hill of the Clandestine Cake Club for an Easter themed Bundt. The recipe is here Creme Egg Bundt Cake

In my rush to get all my things ready this morning I misread the ingredients and took Golden Syrup instead of Golden Syrup sugar which I’ve never seen or heard of before. Fortunately Yvonne gave me some sugar!

The completed cake looked very pretty – even before decorating!

Chocolate Chiffon Bundt

Chocolate Chiffon Bundt

I made the ganache as per the recipe but, despite a good break for coffee and – obviously – cake, it was so runny I was really disappointed as I couldn’t finish the cake. So I decided to pour it into one of my plastic boxes and see what I could do with it later. However, by the time I got home, three hours later, and it had sat in my cold car all that time, the ganache was perfect and I was able to complete the nest effect on top of the cake!

Creme Egg Bundt

Creme Egg Bundt

I also made the first Swiss Roll since I was at school and I will post the recipe for that another day!

Comments are closed.

