Skip to content

CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP

April 7, 2014

Sometimes the tastiest recipes can be the simplest. Chicken soup comes in various forms from my kitchen – with beans, with cream, with potatoes etc etc.

However, when unwell, laid up in bed and wanting a really light meal recently I asked Mr W to buy some chicken noodle soup. I won’t name the brand but it was awful – really awful. Now I’m returning to full health I thought I’d make this weeks left over chicken into my own chicken noodle soup.

It takes a little time to simmer the carcass but apart from that it’s so simple, cheap and uses every last bit of the chicken.

INGREDIENTS

Chicken carcass
An onion or leek
Couple of carrots
Bay leaf
1 tbsp Tomato purée
1 tbsp Worcester sauce
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tsp Bouillon powder
Dried noodles

METHOD

1. Cover the carcass in cold water and simmer for 40 minutes with the bay leaf.

2. Allow to cool and remove the carcass from the liquid and pick all the chicken off the bones. I also added a little more left over chicken. Discard the bay leaf.

Home made stock

Home made stock

3. Wash and thinly slice the leek and carrots and add to the liquid.

I'm trying out this product from Essential Cuisine

I’m trying out this gluten free product from Essential Cuisine

4. Add the other ingredients and simmer for 30 minutes before adding the noodles. Just add as many as you prefer depending on your desired consistency. Continue to cook for 10 minutes. I may have over loaded this with noodles and quite a lot of chicken but as it was for Mr W’s supper after a late shift he said it was perfect!

May have overdone the noodles!

May have overdone the noodles!

Comments are closed.

