Skip to content

CARROT BUNDT CAKE

April 8, 2014

It’s my birthday tomorrow and though we’re going out for lunch I’m going to be making tea (dinner, supper whatever you like to call it!) so we’re going to need a cake. My son and his wife are coming and they like carrot cake so I thought I’d use my new Bundt tin again.

The Twitter expert on Bundt baking is @DollyBakes Rachel but searching her blog – although very tempted by her Banoffee Bundt – I couldn’t find a carrot cake. I asked her if my normal recipe would work but as it’s quite a soft sponge she recommended not.

So I started trawling the Internet and thought a Martha Stewart recipe might do it but it contained margarine (mine has oil) and something called potato starch? Also pecans which I don’t have either and as I wanted to do this NOW (as usual) I decided to try my regular recipe with an extra egg to try to firm it up a bit. It’s written in my book in ounces so I took the opportunity to convert to cups. I love the simplicity of cups and spoon measuring.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups (250g) plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 cup (200g) golden granulated sugar
1 cup (220g) Demerara sugar
1 1/4 cups (300ml) vegetable oil
4 large eggs
2 cups peeled and grated carrots
1 cup golden sultanas

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to Fan 160 degrees. Prepare the Bundt with a quick release spray.

2. Add the sugars and oil to the bowl and mix. Add the eggs and mix again.

Mix in the eggs

Mix in the eggs

3. As I’ve said before I rarely sift but place the flour and spices into a bowl and whisk.

4. Add the flour and spices to the liquid ingredients and mix gently.

5. Add the grated carrots and sultanas and again mix gently. I love the fact my new Kitchen Aid mixer collects everything together and I had no need to scrape flour from round the sides!

Add the carrots and sultanas

Add the carrots and sultanas

6. Gently pour into the Bundt pan – your mixture should be about three quarters way up the pan. Tap the tin on your work surface to remove any air pockets.

Pour into the pan

Pour into the pan

7. Bake for 50-60 minutes – test with a skewer and it should come out cleanly. Leave to cool in the pan before turning out.

Carrot cake Bundt

Carrot cake Bundt

I’m going to decide how to decorate it tomorrow!

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. National Cake Week – Day 3 | Suma Wholefoods | Suma Wholefoods

Comments are closed.

