Skip to content

FRUIT OAT BREAD

April 14, 2014

We’ve had a lovely weekend staying with friends but back home now and getting into the rhythm of the week means looking what needs using up in the fridge and making sure there’s some cake in the house!

Like a lot of people I tend to stick to the same reliable recipes but after the Cake and Bake Show I’m trying to make the effort to keep trying new recipes.

Another recipe from California Prune was for a Prune Oat Bread – listed as High Fibre I thought I could pretend it was a “healthy” bake! However, it does require quite a lot of prunes and I didn’t have enough so, because I try to use what I’ve got I decided to make it up with other dried fruit – dates and apricots.

INGREDIENTS

275g California prunes chopped (I used prunes, dates and apricots)
100g rolled oats
1.5 tsp bicarbonate of soda
50g coconut oil – I used vegetable oil
2 eggs
150g good flavoured honey
175g wholemeal flour
0.25 tsp ground cinnamon – I used 1 tsp and a little nutmeg

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas mark 5.

2. Line a 2lb loaf tin with greaseproof paper.

3. Place the fruit, oats, bicarbonate of soda and coconut oil in a bowl and pour over 125ml of boiling water.

Chop the fruit

Chop the fruit

Add boiling water

Add boiling water

4. Whisk together the eggs and honey until well combined.

Cheshire honey

Cheshire honey

5. Stir in the flour and ground cinnamon and then finally the fruit and oat mixture.

Mix well

Mix well

6. Mix well and pour into the prepared loaf tin. Bake for 45 minutes until a knife inserted into the loaf comes out clean.

7. Cool out of the tin on a cooling rack.

Fruit Oat Bread

Fruit Oat Bread

PER SERVING 234 kcalories, protein 5g, carbohydrate 40.5g, fat 7g, saturated fat 4.5g, fibre 4g, sugar 22.4g, salt 0.5g

Comments are closed.

