Skip to content

HOMEMADE PASTA (IN THE MIXER!)

April 19, 2014

I’ve never made fresh pasta before but inspired, by my demo by Kitchen Aid of how to use my new pasta attachment, I’m giving it a try for supper tonight. The demonstrator made me have a go and I made spaghetti – it was very straightforward – but tonight I’m going to try ravioli.

So first off the basic pasta dough. I decided not to flavour it with anything else at this first attempt.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
1 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

METHOD

1. Whiz the flour and salt in the mixer (or by hand)

Whiz the flour and salt

Whiz the flour and salt

2. Add the eggs, one by one, with the dough hook on slow.

3. Add 1 tbsp of the oil. The mixture will form into a softish ball.

4. Sprinkle the work top with a little flour and form the dough into a smooth ball.

Wrap in cling film

Wrap in cling film

5. Use the second tablespoon of oil to coat the ball, wrap in cling film and chill until required

Comments are closed.

