Skip to content

ROASTED VEGETABLE SOUP

April 30, 2014

I had an unexpected couple of hours free this morning so, inspired by spending time with fellow foodies yesterday, I raided the fridge to see what needed using up before tomorrow’s farm shop delivery. It would have to be a pie to use the puff pastry (which was going out of date!)

Raiding the fridge

Raiding the fridge

I had a big bag of chilli peppers from Huddersfield Upmarket a couple of weeks ago so firstly made half a batch of Chilli Pepper Jam

Chilli Jam

Chilli Pepper Jam

Then I prepped and roasted all the veg – with the addition of half a swede that wasn’t in the fridge! I sprinkled them with rapeseed oil, chopped garlic, black pepper and sea salt and after 30 minutes at 200 degrees fan oven, tossed them in the oil again with the sliced red onion and returned to the oven for another 30 minutes.

Roasted Vegetables

Roasted Vegetables

I kept enough vegetables for two pie dishes for supper and added the remaining vegetables to a pan with one litre of hot vegetable stock (I used Marigold vegetable bouillon powder today) and simmered for 10 – 15 minutes with the addition of a little chopped thyme.

I allowed this to cool slightly before blitzing with my hand held blender, checked the seasoning and hey ho – lunch! A lot of parsnips so a very creamy texture.

Purée the soup

Purée the soup

I’ll blog the pies tomorrow!

Comments are closed.

