Skip to content

FROSTY STRAWBERRY SQUARES

July 3, 2014

When I was 9 my dad returned from a business trip to the US and told me all about a family he had spent time with during his long stay. He had been invited to the home of the gentleman who held the equivalent post to him in their Rochester factory. They also took him out at the weekend to Niagra Falls and he’d enjoyed his time with them.

In the family was a daughter of a similar age to me and very soon we began writing to each other. Before the invention of the internet, email and texting, having a pen friend was really popular – but the fact we continued to write until our twenties proves how much we enjoyed the exchange.

I don’t really know how we lost contact but sadly we did. I always hated the thought of Facebook but after I retired I succumbed as it’s a great way of sharing photos and keeping up with my friends!

After returning from visiting my parents one day I was thinking about Priscilla as Dad had been reminiscing about his many trips abroad and particularly to the US. I doubted I could trace her as surely she would be married with a different name (or like me with more than one name change!)

I went on Facebook and found one person in particular – with her surname as a middle name – could it be her? I sent a message – apologising for bothering her as I was sure it couldn’t be that easy. To my surprise I got a reply and she was just as shocked as yes – it is her and hey presto we’re back in touch. We’ve still a lot of catching up to do but we’ve made a start and I’m glad to say she also enjoys cooking and baking for the family. When she posted a picture of these treats on Facebook I asked for the recipe and it’s now a new favourite! I’m hoping for more to try soon.

FROSTY STRAWBERRY SQUARES

Serves: 10-12

INGREDIENTS

1 cup sifted flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans – I just use chopped mixed nuts
1/2 cup butter

2 egg white beaten but not stiff
1 cup sifted icing sugar
2 cups sliced fresh strawberries
2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 pint double cream – whipped
Fresh strawberries for garnish

METHOD

In a medium bowl, combine flour, brown sugar and butter like making a crumble. Mix well with the nuts.

Mix like crumble

Mix like crumble

Sprinkle mixture in an ungreased 9 x 13 baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes stirring occasionally. Cool thoroughly. Remove about 1/3 of the crumbs for garnish and spread the remainder evenly in the pan (wouldn’t completely cover the bottom most likely)

The crumbly base

The crumbly base

In a very large bowl, combine the softly beaten egg whites with sugar, berries and lemon juice.

Using an electric mixer, beat at high speed to stiff peaks about 10 minutes (I use my Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the whisk and the volume greatly increases so use a large enough bowl!)

Whisk on high speed

Whisk on high speed

Fold in whipped cream. Spoon over nut mixture. Top with remaining nut mixture.

Freeze 6 hours or overnight.

Freeze for at least six hours

Freeze for at least six hours

Remove from freezer about 20 minutes before serving. Cut into squares and garnish with fresh whole strawberries.

Frozen Strawberry Squares

Frozen Strawberry Squares

This is a lovely, refreshing and light dessert. I’m sure I’ll be making it again and trying with different fruit. Also good that I could just remove two slices and know the rest is in the freezer for another day.

Comments are closed.

