Skip to content

FISH CAKES

July 9, 2014

I wondered what to call these – as I’ve made them with all different types of fish – but in the end they are just that – Fish Cakes.

My latest self-challenge is not buying anything ready made. There are days when I would love to just pull something out of the freezer – but if I do at the moment it’s still got to have been made by me.

I’ve had a few bad infections recently due to my diverticular disease and I’ll do anything to avoid ending up back in hospital so I’ve increased my water intake, removed red meat, and avoiding anything processed. I’ve had this illness long enough now to know that there is no pattern to it but surely what I consume must affect it in some way?

I had two lovely pieces of haddock fillet – then found there would be three of us for supper and this is a great way of making expensive fish go further. They weren’t the neatest fish cakes I’ve ever made as I had to shape them and cook them while still warm and the best thing to do is chill your mixture – and chill again when shaped – but they tasted good!

As it was a way of feeding more than expected I thought I’d enter this recipe for this month’s Credit Crunch Munch – run by Fab Food 4 All and Fuss Free Flavours and this month hosted by Maison Cupcake

Credit Crunch Munch

Credit Crunch Munch

INGREDIENTS

500g of potatoes
400g of any suitable fish or mixed fish pieces with all bone removed
4 spring onions
100 ml milk
1 cup grated strong cheese
6-8 small cornichons (optional)
Ground black pepper
1 beaten egg
Breadcrumbs (you can use flour but I prefer breadcrumbs)
Oil for frying (I use rape seed)

METHOD

1. Cook the potatoes in boiling water. Drain well and mash the potato with a small knob of butter. Allow to cool.

2. Cook the fish with the spring onions and milk in a shallow pan and cook through gently for 6-7 minutes – turning the fish once.

Cook the fish in milk

Cook the fish in milk

3. Using a slotted spoon or fish slice remove the fish and onions into the potato. Gently mix into the potatoes, avoiding breaking up the fish too much, then add the cornichons, cheese and a generous grind of black pepper.

Mix gently

Mix gently

4. Form into 6 – 8 cakes. This is easier to do when the mixture is cold as it will be very soft when warm.

Form into 6-8 cakes

Form into 6-8 cakes

5. Beat the egg in a shallow bowl egg and pour the breadcrumbs into another. Dip the cakes in egg and then breadcrumbs and arrange on a sheet of baking paper on a tray. Put the cakes in the fridge for at least half an hour to firm up.

6. You can freeze them for later. Defrost throughly before moving onto the next stage.

7. Heat a large frying pan with 2 tablespoons of oil. When the oil is hot, carefully lower the fish cakes into the pan. Cook for 5 – 7 minutes or until golden brown underneath and then carefully turn them over. Fry for another 5 – 7 minutes or until golden on the bottom and heated all the way through.

TIP - chill the mixture before shaping!

TIP – chill the mixture before shaping!

One Comment
  1. July 9, 2014 3:54 pm

    Ooh these sound and look really tasty, love the addition or cornichons! Thank you for entering Credit Crunch Munh:-)

Comments are closed.

