Skip to content

BREAKFAST BREAD PUDDING

July 13, 2014

When I’m ironing my latest cookery programme of choice to watch is Ina Garten – the Barefoot Contessa on Food Network. Her laid back enthusiasm and lack of pretention is inspiring and I love the scenery and produce around her home in The Hamptons. I’d like to visit that area one day.

This week we were sent some Brioche Pasquier to try out and review. I love receiving a parcel!

If you’ve read some of my posts in the past you will know that I don’t buy any bread now. The pattern of home bread making is instilled into my week. I’ve also made Brioche but I admit that I do buy the packs of little brioche rolls for Mr W. Particularly when we’re travelling they are handy to have if you want a snack and are easily transportable. In my parcel was pre-sliced Brioche and a pack of the little rolls.

Brioche Pasquier

Brioche Pasquier

By chance this week Ina Garten made a Breakfast Bread Pudding. She used a Challah loaf but I immediately thought it would be great with the pre-sliced Brioche Pasquier I’d been sent. I also decided to make it with some of my granola ingredients so I added sultanas, nectarine, apple and coconut.

It was certainly a treat of a breakfast and we can pretend it wasn’t too bad for us with honey instead of sugar! This quantity would feed four.

Following current trends we bought some good quality sausages yesterday and are going to try using the little rolls for hot dogs. That’s as long as Mr. W doesn’t eat them first! The sliced loaf is very buttery and tasty – I’m just hoping it will be available in independents.

INGREDIENTS

4 large free range eggs
1 cup single cream
2 cups full cream milk
1/3 cup runny honey
Brioche (enough to fill your dish) I used 10 slices torn into chunks
1 cup sultanas
1 nectarine, chopped
1 apple, chopped (I left the peel on)
1/3 cup dessicated coconut

METHOD

1. Beat together the eggs, cream, milk and honey.

Using honey as a sweetener

Using honey as a sweetener

Beat together

Beat together

2. Break up the brioche into chunks. Sprinkle with sultanas.

3. Pour over the liquid mixture.

Pour over the liquid mixture

Pour over the liquid mixture

4. Cover with cling film and leave overnight.

5. Next morning preheat the oven to 170 degrees fan. Add the chopped fruit and bake for 40-45 minutes for a very indulgent breakfast!

Breakfast Bread Pudding

Breakfast Bread Pudding

Disclaimer: The Brioche Pasquier was provided to me for review but no payment was received. The views expressed are my own,

Comments are closed.

