Skip to content

MAKE THE MOST OF HAPPY DAYS

July 24, 2014
tags: ,

I’m sleeping in the spare room so if our beautiful baby granddaughter awakes in these less familiar surroundings she will see me here and hopefully not be upset. She’s not been so far and is taking in her stride the fact that the rest of us are emotional wrecks.

Her “big” brother is back in hospital. Delayed by a less then efficient GP we’ve learnt that sometimes you should stick with your gut instincts and not take their advice. 48 hours were wasted when he could have been receiving treatment.

As it is he is now really unwell in hospital and our holiday luggage looks startlingly out of place gathered together earlier in the week in the dining room. A new beach tent, a bag of games and books, another with towels and new beach robes for the little ones. The travel cot is there too with Grandpa’s latest purchase – a beach trolley so he could load everything on it and leave our son in law free hands to piggy back the little man up the steep climb from the beach.

Happy days

Food being so important to me there is also a box with all those things you take for granted when you want to make a meal at home – good oil and seasonings, mayonnaise (and ketchup for little man’s chips!) some herbs and spices, lemon juice and vinegar. Coffee and tea – chocolate biscuits to have with a drink once you’re settled in. Cereals for a quick first breakfast so we can make an early start on our adventures.

Weeks of looking at books about rock pools and telling him how I used to take his mummy and uncle to the very same beaches – and now all I want is for his pain to stop and have him ringing me to ask “when are you coming to see me Nanna”.

So if you’ve been fretting about something relatively minor – don’t waste your energy. Enjoy what you have and don’t yearn for more.

It’s the little things in life that are precious – and the little people who make those little things so important – rock pools and buckets, a picnic on the beach, freshly bathed little ones in their pj’s having bedtime stories. I’ve got tears running down my face as I write this – I just want a simple life – a happy time with the family.

Make the most of happy days.

J
X

2 Comments
  1. July 24, 2014 10:32 pm

    I have tears for you too!

Comments are closed.

