Skip to content

LEMON LOAF CAKE

August 2, 2014

I headed into the kitchen today in the hope of brightening my sad mood. It’s raining heavily so any plans we had have been abandoned. Totally out of bread that was my first priority – soft bread rolls made in the Kitchen Aid mixer will re-stock the freezer.

I’ve been so wrapped up in our unwell grandson we are lacking in many ingredients so my first two choices for cake weren’t possible – no cream cheese for my cherry cake, no yogurt for a coconut bundt. I had lemons in the bowl and recollected a lovely lemon drizzle by Angela Hartnett that I copied down from my friends Sainsbury magazine ages ago. I made it a couple of times but never got round to writing it up. Could I find it today – no. A quick google search didn’t uncover it either so I decided just to go freestyle lemon cake.

As usual I weighed my eggs first – they vary such a lot it does seem to result in a more consistent bake. Three large eggs were 196g hence the odd measurements below.

INGREDIENTS

196g softened butter
196g caster sugar
196g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
Grated rind of 2 small or 1 lemon
1 tbsp lemon juice
1-2 tbsp milk to achieve soft consistency

3 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp sugar

METHOD

1. Weigh your eggs first then equivalent of flour, sugar, butter and add baking powder.

Weigh your eggs first

Weigh your eggs first

2. Mix all together gently until fully combined. Add the lemon rind and juice.

Add the lemon rind and juice

Add the lemon rind and juice

3. The mixture should be a dropping consistency – achieved by the addition of the milk.

4. Grease and line a loaf tin – I use the ready made liners.

5. Bake at 180 degrees fan for 50/60 minutes until golden brown and a skewer comes out cleanly.

Leave in the tin to cool

Leave in the tin to cool

6. Gently dissolve 3 tbsps caster sugar in 3 tbsps of lemon juice.

7. While the cake is still warm and in the tin pour over the warm sugar mixture and leave to cool completely.

Lemon Loaf Cake

Lemon Loaf Cake

Comments are closed.

