Skip to content

CARROT CAKE (the simple way!)

October 3, 2014

Once again my tweeting and blogging has come to a standstill as life interrupts the gentle pattern of my days. This time because my lovely elderly Mum has been in hospital for some time and Dad just can’t manage without her. They have been very happily married for 62 years and I don’t believe either will cope without the other.

However if this situation was reversed Mum would be perfectly capable of still running the home. Theirs is a very traditional relationship not seen as often these days and apart from one meal he prepares as a treat for them both once a week – he cannot cook, use the washer, iron, plan his meals – nor does he even want to. If he were to be the one left on his own I truly think he would just give up. For him life would mean nothing and although it’s lovely to see the depth of their affection for each other it is heart aching to view the future – so I’m trying not too.

I was so shattered by yesterday evening I asked my big brother to step in today and I’m just driving over to take Dad to evening visiting. It’s not so much physical tiredness – though I don’t relish the thought of running their big house alongside our current renovations for much longer – but emotional. Dad’s not retaining information anymore and his repetition is difficult for such long periods of time. Mum had been hinting there was a problem but I hadn’t realised it’s depth.

So today I’ve caught up on a few jobs – not many as we are in such disarray – been for my hair done and this afternoon I have squeezed into a free part of the kitchen and made my easy peasy Carrot Cake and a humongous Cottage Pie.

I followed one carrot cake recipe earlier this year that was so terribly involved I didn’t make another for quite a while but this one is my regular and really simple.

INGREDIENTS

180g light muscovado sugar
180ml sunflower oil
3 large eggs
150g grated carrots
100g sultanas
1tbsp candied peel – if you can get it use Suma’s it’s so lovely
180g self-raising flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp grated nutmeg

For the topping

1 tbsp cream cheese (at room temperature)
175g icing sugar
2 tbsp milk to reach required consistency

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas 4/fan 160C. Oil a 20cm square cake tin and line the base with baking parchment.

2. Put the sugar into your mixer bowl, pour in the oil and add the eggs. Mix on slow speed until combined.

3. Add in the grated carrots, sultanas and candied peel.

Grate the carrots

Grate the carrots

4. Sift the flour, bicarb and spices into the bowl. Lightly mix all the ingredients making sure the flour is fully combined.

Sift the flour

Sift the flour

5. The mixture will be fairly soft and runny.

6. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 40- 45 minutes, until it feels firm and springy when you press it in the centre.

Easy peasy Carrot Cake

Easy peasy Carrot Cake

7. Cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then turn it out, peel off the paper and cool on a wire rack.

8. Beat together the topping ingredients until smooth – you want the icing soft enough to spread.

Comments are closed.

