Skip to content

M and M’s American Style Cookies

October 11, 2014

I’ve not had much luck with cookie recipes. Shortbread, ginger biscuits, even Jammie Dodgers – not a problem. But trying to get that American style of cookie that is crisp on the outside and gooey on the middle has eluded me – until now.

Pinterest has brought me a new source of inspiration – some beautiful photography – and when our renovations are completed we’re having a new Apple Mac to help with our pictures and video. I love the way people present their cooking and as I have no excuse not to do the same with the knowledge of Photoshop etc from my last job when – in the run down to early retirement – I moved from paper journalism to running the website for the pharmaceutical company that was my employer for 33 years.

I’ve found a few recipes on there and have adapted them to my ingredients as I wanted to bake them this morning before I start painting (walls not landscapes!).

INGREDIENTS

8 oz softened butter (I actually used a tub of Lurpak clarified butter that needed using up)
2 cups plain flour
1 cup porridge oats
1 1/2 tsp ground rice
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup golden granulated sugar
3/4 cup soft light brown sugar, packed
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1 cup m&ms (or similar chocolate sweets)
3/4 cup milk chocolate chunks

METHOD

1. Preheat oven to 180 fan, 350F and line baking sheet with parchment.

2. Cream the butter and sugars for a few minutes.

Pack the soft sugar

Pack the soft sugar

3. Add in the flour, oats, ground rice, baking powder and salt.

4. Add in egg, yolk and vanilla. Mix until fully incorporated.

5. Gently mix in M and M’s and chocolate chips.

Gently fold in the sweets and chunks

Gently fold in the sweets and chunks

6. I use an ice cream scoop to measure the cookies to get an even size and bake for 19-15 minutes rotating the 3 trays until cookies are golden brown around the edges but still look a little underdone in the middle.

Use an ice cream scoop for an even size

Use an ice cream scoop for an even size

7. Allow to cool on the tray for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

American Style M and M's cookies

American Style M and M’s cookies

Comments are closed.

