Skip to content

“SPRING” INSPIRATION

March 2, 2015

I very rarely lose my inspiration for cooking and baking – I find it therapeutic even at the stressful times that we all have to deal with in our busy lives. Having said that – there are times when life is moving so fast that it’s easy to fall into a repetitive menu – not as in rhythm with the food of the season that was part of my reason for starting to shop at the farm shop and farmers markets in the first place.

Fresh!

Fresh!

Yesterday in the “Sunday I” newspaper I read an article about Raymond Blanc and Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall and their continued efforts to encourage us all to cut down on our protein intake and eat more sustainable produce.

Following that we listened to an excellent edition of the BBC Radio 4 Food Programme with Sheila Dillon about the additives and enzymes we eat without realising in so much of our shop bought prepared goods – even washed salads and chopped fruit. It was shocking. We can do more to avoid them – and – particularly for me with intestinal problems – it must be better for us.

I’m having to go to a supermarket every week now as I shop for my elderly parents and they’ve just started buying ready meals. They are both in their late 80’s so they’ve done well not to have them before. I haven’t bought them for us but I have been slipping odd things in to the trolley for ease for myself again and having taken stock of what I read and heard yesterday I am re-inspired to go back to basics.

I’ve got my recipe books out and I’m making sure we’re not buying imported fruit and veg unless it’s absolutely necessary – melons, oranges and lemons for example.

I’m going to plan our weekly meals with mostly vegetarian and have more fish and less meat again. With Spring only days away I’m ready to “spring” into action.

Tonight’s meal is going to be a Vegetable Biryani from River Cottage Veg Everyday. I’ll have to include a pie this week in honour of British Pie Week too! I’ll let you know how we go on.

British Pie Week

British Pie Week

Comments are closed.

