Skip to content

SPICY MEXICAN QUINOA

April 18, 2015

I’ve been struggling with my diverticular disease recently and ending up with further time in hospital this week. They’ve talked about removing the worst area of my bowel but I’m really hoping I can avoid that.

Through following an elimination diet I’ve already found that, sadly, red meat and coffee are best ignored. Also that onions need to be cooked. I’m sure there will be more but in an effort to keep as healthy as I can I’ve read an awful lot on what is advised to eat as most dieticians still recommend just high fibre and that doesn’t always work well for a lot of people with the disease.

My failure on a, mostly, vegetarian diet is making sure we get enough protein so I’m going to try and get more included.

Today’s meal is based around quinoa (pronounced keen-wah apparently). One of the latest “superfoods”.

INGREDIENTS (for 2)

100g quinoa
400ml vegetable stock
Mixed leaves – I used watercress, coriander and rocket but any will do
1 small tin sweetcorn
1 tin kidney beans
Handful of cherry plum tomatoes, halved
1 ripe avocado, chopped
Cucumber and red onion if desired (on this occasion I left them out)

DRESSING

1 large lime, juiced
1-2 tsp Tabasco sauce
1/4 tsp cumin powder
1/4 tsp chilli powder
sea salt and black pepper to taste
3-4 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil or avocado oil
1-2 tbsp red wine vinegar

METHOD

1. Begin preparing quinoa first by thoroughly rinsing in a fine mesh sieve, then bringing to a boil with stock in a small saucepan. Once boiling, reduce heat to simmer, cover and cook on low for 15-20 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, prepare salad ingredients by chopping vegetables, and warming the beans and corn and seasoning with salt, cumin, chilli and garlic powder.

Beautiful avocado

Beautiful avocado

3. Prepare dressing by adding all ingredients to a bowl and mixing or (as I do) shaking together in a small jam jar. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

4. Assemble the ingredients in a large bowl and stir through the dressing. How simple is that!

Any leaves will do

Any leaves will do

Assemble the dish

Assemble the dish

Spicy Mexican Quinoa Salad

Spicy Mexican Quinoa Salad

2 Comments
  1. April 18, 2015 9:12 am

    I always enjoy reading your recipes. I am sorry to hear about your illness but it seems that it is opening up new food opportunities, which is a positive ‘side effect’.

    • April 18, 2015 3:31 pm

      Thank you Karen that’s so kind of you. Hoping to find some healthier baking to so Mr W still gets some sweet treats!

Comments are closed.

