Skip to content

MARY BERRY’S BANANA BREAD

May 22, 2015

As a source of inspiration the internet is full of pictures, chat, recipes and ideas for using seasonal ingredients.

That said when it comes to cake recipes I’ve been a bit disappointed with a couple I’ve tried off the internet. However, there are certain people whose recipes never fail – I have half a dozen whose books I always buy but I hold my hands up and admit I do not own a Mary Berry one. Perhaps it’s time I did!

Mary Berry

Mary Berry

I have a reliable Nigella Banana Bread but I was looking for something a little lighter when I found this one from Mary. I’ve made it three or four times now and it is lovely and light. Keeps well and freezes well too.

So today – after collecting half a dozen browning bananas from my daughter’s – I made a triple batch and will be freezing two.

This is super simple and yet a moist and tasty cake.

INGREDIENTS

100g Softened Butter
175g Caster Sugar
2 Large Eggs
2 Ripe Bananas (mashed)
225g Self Raising Flour
1 tsp. Baking Powder
2 tbsp. Milk

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to 180C / Fan 160C / Gas 4.

2. Line a 2lb loaf tin (I use bought liners for my loaf cakes).

3. Measure all ingredients into a mixing bowl and beat until well blended.

Mix all ingredients

Mix all ingredients

4. Spoon the mixture into the tin and level the surface.

5. Bake in the pre-heated over for about 1 hour, until well risen and golden brown. A fine skewer inserted in the centre should come out clean when the loaf is ready.

A triple batch

A triple batch

6. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes, then turn out, peel of the parchment and finish cooling on a wire rack.

Comments are closed.

