Skip to content

LIGHT CHICKEN AND VEGETABLE POT PIES

August 24, 2015

I think I have an addiction to cooking and baking. I really do get withdrawal symptoms when I don’t get my time in the kitchen and being on my healthy diet means I’m definitely missing making my bread or cakes again.

I keep pulling out my cook books for inspiration and we’re doing really well keeping on it. A piece of paper fell out of one of the books this weekend and it was the recipe for these little pies – based on a recipe from the Hairy Bikers diet.

The recipe makes 4 pies.

INGREDIENTS

2 rashers of rindless back bacon, cut into strips
150g of mushrooms – sliced
1 leek, trimmed, finely sliced and washed
2 skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into small pieces
25g plain flour
500 ml chicken stock
150g small broccoli florets
75g frozen peas
2 tbsp half fat creme fraiche
3 sheets of filo pastry
salt and pepper

METHOD

1. Preheat oven to 220 degrees, 200 degrees Fan, Gas 7

2. Add the bacon to a non-stick pan and then add the mushrooms, cook for 5 minutes stirring regularly

Bacon and mushrooms

Bacon and mushrooms

3. Add the leek and chicken and stir for a couple of minutes before sprinkling over the flour and cooking for a minute before gradually adding the stock.

Add the leek and chicken

Add the leek and chicken

4. Add the peas and broccoli and bring back to a simmer for about 5 minutes until thickening, season to taste.

5. Remove from the heat and stir in the creme fraiche

image

6. Divide equally between four ovenproof dishes.

7. Cut the filo pastry into strips – the original recipe says spray with oil but I don’t! Top each dish with crumpled strips equally.

Scrunch up the strips of filo

Scrunch up the strips of filo

8. Place the dishes on a baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes until golden.

Bake until golden

Bake until golden

Tasty little pies that are very simple to make – enjoy!

Comments are closed.

