Skip to content

BROAD BEAN, FETA AND SPINACH PIE FROM NIGEL SLATER

September 2, 2015

When HFW brought out River Cottage Veg Everyday I studiously worked my way through each page. It was quite an achievement to think I’d completed it and many of the recipes have remained as regular favourites.

Following my food elimination diet makes that level of recipe book devotion impossible at the moment but it does feel like I’m once again following the seasonal cooking of the lovely Nigel Slater.

Having given up pastry for many weeks I had no ill effects from eating filo last week so I was flicking through my books for another filo recipe to use up the packet when I spotted this one. Once again my fridge contained the necessary ingredients for this tasty supper. I reduced the filling as I just wanted this for two so double up if it’s for four.

Easy, quick and tasty – definitely another one to be repeated.

METHOD

200g broad beans – shelled weight
250g spinach
200g feta
filo pastry 6 sheets, about 270g
melted butter for brushing
sesame seeds 1 tsp – I used Nigella seeds

INGREDIENTS

1. Set the oven at 200C/gas mark 6.

2. Put a saucepan of water on to boil. Tip in the broad beans and leave to cook for 7-10 minutes until tender. Drain then squeeze the beans out of their grey skins and set aside. If you quickly cool them in a colander under a cold tap they will retain their lovely bright colour. I don’t peel mine as we like the chewier texture.

Spinach

Spinach

3. Wash the spinach very thoroughly. While the leaves are still holding some of their water, put them into a large, deep pan over a low to moderate heat, without any further liquid, cover with a tight lid and cook for a few minutes, turning occasionally until they are wilted. Drain in a colander or sieve, then cool under running cold water.

4. Squeeze the spinach almost dry with your hands. Leave some moisture in there, but it should not be soggy. Set aside in a bowl then add the broad beans, and season with black pepper. Crumble the feta into the spinach and fold together.

Crumble in the feta

Crumble in the feta

5. Place a sheet of filo pastry on a baking sheet, then brush it with butter. Place a second sheet on top, and brush with butter then continue until all six sheets are used. Brush the top sheet with butter, then place the broad-bean-and-feta filling in a pile on one half of the pastry, shaping it into a rough rectangle.

6. Fold the edges over, book-style, and press loosely to seal. Brush with butter, cut a small slit or two in the top, then scatter lightly with the seeds. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

Broad bean, feta and spinach pie

Broad bean, feta and spinach pie

Comments are closed.

