Skip to content

CINNAMON ROLLS

October 18, 2015

Another day of #expressyourshelf and I needed to bake some bread and a snack for brunch before we go out. I had some cherries that needed using so was just going to use half my dough for a fruit loaf but then I thought I’d try cinnamon rolls. Not following a traditional recipe of an enriched dough the finished rolls were light and fluffy and definitely enough sweetness with the fruit and apricot jam glaze.

I used a quantity of my basic bread dough

After the first 30 minute rest again place the dough on an oiled surface and using the knuckles or palms shape into a rectangle getting rid of any air bubbles.

Melt a good tablespoon of butter and brush over the dough. Sprinkle the surface with 2 tablespoons of soft brown sugar. Sprinkle with cinnamon. I then used chopped cherries, cranberries and sultanas to cover the surface but you could use any of your favourite dried fruits.

Add your fillings

Add your fillings

Then roll the dough Swiss roll style and slice into 6/8 rolls. Place into a greased tin and leave to rise for 30/40 minutes before baking for 35 minutes at 180 degrees fan.

Place in a greased tin

Place in a greased tin

Gently heat two tablespoons of apricot jam and glaze the rolls while they are still warm. Drizzle with a little water icing and leave to cool – if you can!

Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon Rolls

Comments are closed.

