Skip to content

AN OVERLOAD OF DIETARY INFORMATION

November 8, 2016

Those of you who’ve followed my blog may remember I have an ongoing health problem around IBD (Inflammatory Bowel Disease). With that in mind we always eat healthily and homemade meals (ok I admit probably too much bread and cake in the past!).

Beautiful avocado

Beautiful avocado

Unfortunately things have got worse and following more investigation it seems I am Coeliac and Lactose intolerant. This actually makes sense to me as after following a restricted diet I was already avoiding creamy meals such as lasagna and fish pie and have devised lighter versions that didn’t bring on the violent reactions.

Lovely tomatoes

Lovely tomatoes

I’ve got literature to read, plenty of bookmarked items on my iPad and a couple of new recipe books on the way – but combining the gluten free, dairy free and FODMAP advice will mean a total change of what I eat. Don’t get me wrong – I’m happy to do it if it avoids surgery and poor health but I think I’ll have to start a list of what I can eat rather than a list of what to avoid. No more wheat, wheat products, milk, milk products, onions, cauliflower, lentils, mushrooms…..

Butternut squash is on the menu!

Butternut squash is on the menu!

A little bit daunted by it all but a new foodie journey for me – please share with me if you have any experience or ideas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

