Skip to content

CHOCOLATE BUNDT – GLUTEN AND DAIRY FREE!

December 18, 2016

Hooray! My first attempt at a Bundt since diagnosis and I was very prepared for a failure but I’m more than happy to say it turned out to be beautifully moist and flavourful – the texture too was much more cake like so I’m writing it up quickly before I forget what I did.

INGREDIENTS

300g soft light brown sugar
3 large eggs
250 ml carton lacto free single cream (I use Arla)
70g coconut oil – melted
half a cup strong coffee
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
300g Glutafin Multipurpose White Mix
80g ground almonds
60g Dairy free cocoa powder (I use Bournville)
1 tablespoon GF baking powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
½ teaspoon fine sea salt
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
100g dark chocolate chips or chopped dark chocolate (dairy free)

METHOD

1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees Fan, Gas Mark

2. Prepare the bundt tin well – I use an easy release spray but you can use oil & cornflour but make sure you get into all the little spaces!

3. Whisk the eggs with the sugar until smooth and the colour lightens.

4. Mix in the cream, oil, coffee and vanilla.

Dark chocolate chips

Dark chocolate chips

5. Gradually sift in the dry ingredients – mixing gently until incorporated then fold in the chocolate chips or pieces.

6. Spoon into your Bundt tin ensuring any smaller areas are filled – I tap the tin a few times to make sure there are no air pockets. Fill about three-quarters full.

7. Bake for 40/50 minutes until a skewer comes out clean. Leave to cool for 10-15 minutes before gently easing from the tin onto a cooling rack.

8. You can decorate with ganache, icing, melted chocolate etc but I left this one plain as it was baked in my favourite tin and I like to see the detail!

Chocolate Chip Bundt - gluten and dairy free

Chocolate Chip Bundt – gluten and dairy free

Comments are closed.

