Skip to content

CHOCOLATE RUM PUDDINGS

April 5, 2015

HAPPY EASTER!

Our Easter wreath

Our Easter wreath

I love having ingredients in my kitchen that mean I can rustle up a meal without pre-planning – or that dreaded thing – shopping! I’m always careful not to waste food because I love to make the most of what we have but sometimes you end up with a lot of something and need to find something new to make.

I have so much chocolate in the house this weekend that a chocolate dessert was an obvious choice. I’ve done chocolate cheesecakes and mousses but this was a new one to me and so simple with the type of simple ingredients I always have that I’ll be keeping it to make again. It was adapted from one I found on Pinterest.

So if you’ve got loads of chocolate from Easter – enjoy!

INGREDIENTS

⅓ cup Caster sugar
⅓ cup good quality cocoa
2 tbsp. cornflour
1¾ cup milk (not skimmed)
¼ cup double cream
4 oz chocolate, finely chopped
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tbsp. dark rum

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Whisk sugar, cocoa, cornflour in a saucepan.

Whisk

Whisk

2. Slowly add milk and cream, whisking constantly and bring to a simmer over medium heat.

3. Cook, while whisking, until thickened and beginning to bubble at edges.

Chop chocolate

Chop chocolate

4. Remove from the heat then add chocolate, and stir until smooth, about 30 seconds. Stir in vanilla and rum. Divide between four ramekins, cover with plastic wrap, and chill until set, about 1½ hours.

Top with whipped cream

Top with whipped cream

5. Top with whipped cream and serve.

Comments are closed.